Yuki Bhambri, Rohan Bopanna, Shreyashi Iyer Nominated For Arjuna Award

| April 27 , 2018 , 13:35 IST

The All India Tennis Association (AITA) put forth the names of Yuki Bhambri and Rohan Bopanna for the Arjuna Award on Thursday. National Rifle Association of India nominated Shreyashi Iyer for the same.

AITA Secretary General Hironmoy Chatterjee confirmed the news when asked by the media if they have nominated the two players.

Arjuna Award is given to people who have performed outstandingly in their respective sport. They are given a cash price of Rs. 5,00,00 along with a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.

Yuki recently reclaimed his place in top-100 after a string of impressive performances, achieving his career-best rank of 83.

ALSO READ: BCCI Recommends Virat Kohli For Khel Ratna, Rahul Dravid For Dronacharya Award

"It's an honour to be nominated. It's acknowledgment of my hard work. There are definitely many players who deserve it and Rohan is one of them. He has done well over the years," said Yuki

Bopanna, who had won the French Open mixed doubles title last year with Canadian Gabriela Dabrowski, was nominated last year after the deadline had passed.

Along with Shreyashi Iyer, Ankur Mittal, Shahzar Rizvi and Pooja Ghatkar have also been recommended for the Arjuna award by the NRAI.

Meanwhile, World Championship bronze-medallist Gaurav Bidhuri and Asian silver-medallist Sonia Lather were also nominated by the Boxing Federation of India (BFI) for Arjuna awards.

"Gaurav and Sonia have been nominated for the Arjuna, while women's chief coach Shiv Singh, and his assistants Bhaskar Bhatt and Sandhya Gurung have been nominated for the Dronacharya award," a top BFI official told the media.