Ball-Tampering Scandal: Won't Be Challenging One-Year Ban, Confirms Steve Smith

News World India | 1
| April 4 , 2018 , 12:04 IST

The former Aussie skipper Steve Smith's involvement in the scandalous ball-tampering incident has raised many eyebrows, leaving the player with a one-year ban from International cricket. After a day of Australian union demanding his ban reduction, the man himself has cleared his stance.

Confirming that he will not be challenging the ban, Steve Smith tweeted, " I won’t be challenging the sanctions. They’ve been imposed by CA to send a strong message and I have accepted them," adding that he has taken full responsibility for the incident as team's captain knowing the consequences.

Although, the batsman did express, "I would give anything to have this behind me and be back representing my country," but also made it clear that the heavy penalty imposed upon him by the Australian Cricketers Association was justified and he will serve his punishment with sincerity.

The ban has expelled Smith from playing for the International cricket as well as the domestic State cricket. Seems like the player will have to be satisfied by playing for the Sydney grade cricket in summer. There are also high chances of him playing county cricket in England this winter.

ALSO READ: Ball-Tampering Scandal: Steve Smith Breaks Down, Takes Full Responsibility For Incident

Other two involved in the scandal namely David Warner and Cameron Bancroft is yet to comment on challenging Cricket Australia's ban. Incidentally, a day before Smith's tweet Australia's players' Union called for a reduction in the bans, describing them as "disproportionate".

"The proposed penalties are disproportionate relative to precedent", said Australian Cricketers' Association (ACA) president Greg Dyer. "We ask that consideration is given to recalibrating the proposed sanctions, to consider options such as suspending or reducing part of the sanction," he added.

Cameron Bancroft was seen tampering with the ball on-field with a yellow sandpaper-like object. The umpires saw him fiddling with the ball using a foreign object, following which, Bancroft tried to hide the yellow object in his underwear but unluckily, the action was caught on camera.