Vidarbha Beats Delhi By 9 Wickets To Lift Ranji Trophy

News World India | 0
| January 1 , 2018 , 19:04 IST

Following great innings by the competing teams, the finals of Ranji Trophy culminated with the extraordinary team of Vidarbha lifting the cup. The winning team thrashed their opponents, Delhi by 9 wickets. At the loss of merely 1 wicket, the winning team easily chased 29 runs in 5 overs.

The team has showcased an unbelievable batting performance on the field with skipper Faiz Fazal (67), Wasim Jaffer (78), AV Wadkar (133), AA Sarwate (79) and SS Neral (74) scoring to their best abilities in first innings. Delhi was merely able to score 295 and 280 runs in both their batting innings.

While Delhi's Dhruv Shorey (145 and 62) and Himmat Singh (66) won over the audience with their stellar batting gig, others were a huge disappointment. Vidarbha's champ pacer Rajneesh Gurbani castled the Delhi batsmen by taking 6 wickets for 59 runs in the first innings.

ALSO READ: Rajneesh Gurbani Creates History At Ranji Final, Becomes 2nd Bowler To Take Hat-Trick

Despite taking a wicket, Delhi's Navdeep Saini gave away 135 runs. The losing team were able to stall the Vidarbha's players after taking remaining three wickets in the morning who have already collected 528 overnight with wicketkeeper Wadkar unbeaten on 133.

In their second innings, Delhi team was all out for 280 in the second innings with Shorey. The seven-time winners were blown out of their guts when Gautam Gambhir was adjudged out lbw off Gurbani's ball. As the team's score reached 164, Shorey's wicket was taken by the left-arm spinner Aditya Sarwate.

Himmat was also bowled by off-spinner Akshay Wakhare before opening an account. The reckless skipper Rishabh Pant (32) soon followed the suit as Delhi ran out of batting options. This was an over after Pant was let off by Wadkar, who missed an easy stumping chance.