Rani Rampal To Lead Indian Women's Hockey Squad For CWG 2018

| March 14 , 2018 , 19:08 IST

The 18-member squad for India’s Women team to compete in the Commonwealth Games 2018 was announced was Hockey India on Wednesday. The Games start from April 4 in Gold Coast, Australia.

The Indian team is grouped in Pool A along with Malaysia, Wales, England and South Africa. They will begin their campaign on April 5 against Wales.

ALSO READ: Commonwealth Games 2018: Hockey India Announces 18-Man Squad, Sardar Singh Dropped

The 18-member squad will be captained by ace striker Rani Rampal while experienced goalkeeper Savita will shoulder the duties of vice-captain.

The Indian team is currently ranked No. 10 in the world and will face stiff competition from higher ranked teams such as World No. 2 England, World No. 4 New Zealand and World No. 5 hosts Australia.

Chief Coach Harendra Singh is confident that the determined team can cause huge upsets on the back of winning the five-match series in South Korea.

“We have played with the same set of players for a long period so the players have formed a great understanding between themselves which was evident during our 2017 Asia Cup triumph. The team also performed well in South Korea to beat a higher-ranked side and we will be looking to cause a few upsets and aim for the podium as the morale is high going into the prestigious Gold Coast 2018 XXI Commonwealth Games,” he said.

The Indian Women’s Hockey team won the Gold Medal at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in England after defeating the hosts 3-2 after extra-time in the Final match, and won the Silver Medal in the subsequent 2006 Commonwealth Games in Australia as they lost in the Final to the hosts.


Goalkeepers: Savita (VC), Rajani Etimarpu

Defenders:Deepika, Sunita Lakra, Deep Grace Ekka, Gurjit Kaur, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam

Midfielders: Monika, Namita Toppo, Nikki Pradhan, Neha Goyal, Lilima Minz

Forwards: Rani Rampal (C), Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navjot Kaur, Navneet Kaur, Poonam Rani