Odisha Govt Becomes First State To Sponsor Indian Hockey Team For 5 Years

| February 15 , 2018 , 14:19 IST

The Indian Hockey teams both men and women will be sponsored by Odisha government for the next five years. This is the first time a state is sponsoring a national Hockey team.

"It is a historic step for us to support and sponsor Indian Hockey Teams- Men and Women for the next 5 years. This is Odisha's gift to the nation. Today, every Odia is proud that Team India will wear Odisha's logo" Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik said in Delhi on Thursday, as reported by ANI.

The 14th edition of Men's Hockey World Cup will be held in Odisha's capital city Bhubaneswar in 2018 from November 28 - December 16.

ALSO READ: Khelo India School Games: Haryana Becomes The Champion With 38 Gold Medals

Sahara, associated with the Indian hockey since 1995, in 2017 had extended the national team sponsorship through 2021. Under the new agreement, the athletes of both junior and senior level will benefit from the company's support and will enable better preparations for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

In yet another first, Odisha had earlier become the first and only State to field its team in a franchisee-based National sport’s league. Odisha State was the franchise owners for the Kalinga Lancers.