Indian Women Cricket Announces Squads For New Zealand Tour, Drops Veda Krishnamurthy

| December 22 , 2018 , 20:35 IST

Indian Women cricket team got their new head coach in the form of former Indian opener WV Raman who was appointed on December 20.

Soon after the appointment of Women's coach, Indian team for the New Zealand ODI and T20I squads were announced and the big news was Veda Krishnamurthy exclusion. Mona Meshram was named as the replacement.

Mithali Raj remained ODI captain while Harmanpreet Kaur was reserved as the T20I side captain.

Krishnamurthy was left out from both the squads after a below-par performance at the recently concluded ICC Women's World T20 where she only managed to score 24 runs in 5 matches.

Priya Punia has earned a maiden-call up in the T20 squad, while fast-bowler all-rounder Shikha Pandey makes a return to the side after missing out on a place in the World T20 squad.

ALSO READ: Former Indian Opener WV Raman Becomes The New Head Coach Of India Women

Pandey’s entry comes at the expense of Devika Vaidya, who entered the World T20 mid-tournament as a replacement for the injured Pooja Vastrakar. 

It is learnt that India will take on New Zealand in 3-ODI rubber as part of the ICC Women’s Championship 2017-2020, after the ODI's both sides will take on each other in three T20Is.

The first ODI is set to take place on 24 January at Napier.

Squads for both fixtures:

ODI squad- Mithali Raj (captain), Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Punam Raut, Deepti Sharma, D Hemalatha, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Mona Meshram, Ekta Bisht, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey.

T20I squad- Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Anuja Patil, D Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Priya Punia.