India To Face Pakistan In The Hockey Champions Trophy Opener

| June 23 , 2018 , 16:05 IST

Indian Hockey team will take on arch-rival Pakistan in the opening clash of Champions trophy on Monday in Netherland. The team will put behind their distress of the Commonwealth games campaign. India has never won a Champions Trophy title.

World's top six teams Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Netherlands, Pakistan and India will compete for the coveted trophy.

Pakistan has maintained a good record in Champions Trophy with three titles under their belts. Pakistan won the inaugural season of the Champions Trophy held in Lahore when they beat Australia in the final in 1978. They retained the trophy in the 1980 Champions Trophy. They won the trophy in 1994 after a gap of 14 years and have been struggling ever since. The Pakistani team has finished as runner-up in the tournament seven times in 1983, 1984, 1988, 1991, 1996, 1998, and 2014.

India is yet to win the trophy but came close to winning it in the 2016 Champions Trophy played in London losing to Australia in the penalty shootout. 

After the epic clash with Pakistan, India is scheduled to face Argentina (on June 24), Australia (June 27), Belgium (June 28) and Netherlands (June 30).