Indian Hockey Squad For Azlan Shah Cup Announced, Sardar Singh Back As Captain

| February 20 , 2018 , 15:08 IST

The Hockey India selectors on Tuesday restored Sardar Singh as captain for the 28 members Indian squad for the 27th edition of Sultan Azlan Shah Cup held in Malaysia from March 3-10.

Sardar Singh was dropped for the last two events including Hockey World League final.

India will take on World No 1 Australia, Olympic champions Argentina, England, Ireland and hosts Malaysia. This event will be a preparation for the Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast.

Apart from Sardar Singh, three debutants for the event in Mandeep Mor, Sumit Kumar and Shilanand Lakra.

“Just like the New Zealand Tour where four players made their International debut, the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup is a great opportunity for these new players to get international exposure against top teams,” a Hockey India release quoted chief coach Sjoerd Marijne as saying.

Coach Marijne has also rested regular skipper Manpreet Singh and goalkeeper PR Sreejesh.

On Sardar Singh’s role as the captain, Marijne said, “Sardar is one of the leaders in the core group and in Manpreet Singh’s absence, he has been chosen for the job. He is an experienced player and having missed two tournaments previously, this is an opportunity for him to show his skills.”


Goalkeepers - Suraj Karkera, Krishan B Pathak

Defenders - Amit Rohidas, Dipsan Tirkey, Varun Kumar, Surender Kumar, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Mandeep Mor

Midfielders - S.K. Uthappa, Sardar Singh (C), Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma, Simranjeet Singh

Forwards - Gurjant Singh, Ramandeep Singh Talwinder Singh, Sumit Kumar, Shilanand Lakra