Team India Announced: Maiden ODI Call-Up For Gurkeerat, Aravind Surprise T20 Pick

| September 20 , 2015 , 13:46 IST
Rookie Punjab all-rounder Gurkeerat Singh Mann on Sunday earned his maiden India call-up while Karnataka seamer Srinath Aravind staged a comeback after four years as BCCI announced its squads for the three T20 Internationals and the first three ODIs for the upcoming home series against South Africa. [caption id="attachment_127992" align="aligncenter" width="700"](Imaging: Bhupender Sharma) (Imaging: Bhupender Sharma)[/caption] The 25-year-old Gurkeerat was rewarded with a place in the ODI team for his consistent performance for India A in the recent limited overs matches while left-arm seamer Aravind got a surprise recall in the T20 squad to be captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Seasoned off-spinner Harbhajan Singh retained his place in the T20 team as selectors picked the squad looking ahead at the ICC World T20, next March. Veteran leg-spinner Amit Mishra was recalled in both ODI and T20 squads announced by BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur after a meeting of the selection committee Bengaluru. Barring Gurkeerat and Aravind's inclusion, there were no major surprises with the selectors preferring to stick with recent pool of players who have done well for India. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja was a notable omission in both the squads while pacers Ishant Sharma and Varun Aaron, regarded as Test specialists, were not considered. Seniors like Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Ravichandran Ashwin were automatic selections in both the teams. So were Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Mohit Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, all of whom have been integral part of India's limited overs' scheme of things. Chairman of selectors Sandeep Patil said that the squads have been picked keeping the World T20 in mind and also clarified that there was no discussions on removing Dhoni from ODI captaincy. "We have not discussed anything about captaincy of ODIs. We are very happy in the manner Dhoni has led the side and we have total backing for Dhoni during the upcoming series," Patil rubbished the reports that emerged in some quarters about Dhoni's removal from captaincy in the 50-over format. "We have always discussed the forthcoming World T20. We have also discussed the possibilities and the performances of players and who all will be useful," Patil told media persons. About Gurkeerat's selection, Patil said, "We have kept in mind his all-round abilities and his recent performances. He is an exciting youngster. The 'A' series has gone well and we as selectors are happy that a lot of exciting youngsters are coming up," said Patil. Teams

ODI: MS Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Stuart Binny, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma and Umesh Yadav

T20: MS Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Stuart Binny, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Harbhajan Singh, Mohit Sharma and Sreenath Aravind