Ind Vs Eng: India 3-Wickets Down, Pujara Runs Himself Out In Rain-Hit Lord's Test

| August 10 , 2018 , 18:50 IST

India is struggling on 15/3 with Skipper Virat Kohli (3 not out) fighting a lone battle when rain interrupted play in the ninth over of the day at Lord's cricket ground on Friday.

Poor communication gets Cheteshwar Pujara run out on (1), Kohli did not respond properly, it was a wastage of wicket.  

It was not a good start for the Indian batters as both the openers failed to leave an impression and returned to the pavilion.

Opener Murali Vijay returned without troubling the scores for a duck (0) and new opener KL Rahul failed once again and only managed to score merely 8 runs before rain once again interrupted the day's play soon after the toss.

England's Vice Captain and pace charger James Anderson bowled some beautiful spells of out swinging bowling and managed to take both the Indian wickets.

The 2nd Test between India and England at the Lord's cricket ground started in a dramatic fashion as the opening day was called off due to continuous rain on Thursday.

The toss took place on the 2nd day, England Captain Joe Root won the toss and elected to field first in a cloudy morning.

Virat Kohli led Indian team had made two big changes in their playing XI as the team management brought in solid No.3 batsman Cheteshwar Pujara in place of out of form opener Shikhar Dhawan.

The 2nd big change came in the form of the left-arm chinaman spinner Kuldeep Yadav came in the place of pacer Umesh Yadav.

Speaking to media, Indian Captain Virat Kohli had said in a pre-match representation that he would definitely like to go with 2 spinners in the Lords Test.          

The hosts also made a couple of changes by handing a Test debut to young batsman Ollie Pope in place of out of form batsman Dawid Malan, and the second change witnessed a comeback of fast bowler Chris Woakes after being forced to drop all-rounder Ben Stokes due to his ongoing court case.

Both the teams looks like:

India: Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik(WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma.

England: Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Joe Root (Captain), Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow (WK), Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.