Harmanpreet Kaur To Lead Indian Team In ICC Women's World T20, Smriti Named As Deputy

| September 28 , 2018 , 18:12 IST

Destructive batswoman Harmanpreet Kaur has been named Indian women cricket team Captain and will be leading a 15-member team at the sixth ICC Women's World Twenty20 to be held in the West Indies from November 9 to 24.

The explosive left-handed opener Smriti Mandhana has been named as the vice-captain of the team.

According to media reports, the BCCI in a mail said, "The All-India Women’s Selection Committee has picked the Indian Women’s Cricket Team for the upcoming ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2018."

India are placed in Group B along with Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Ireland in the 10-team tournament.

India will begin their campaign against New Zealand in Guyana on November 9 and followed by matches against arch-rivals Pakistan on November 11, Ireland (November 15) and Australia (November 17).

ALSO READ: WWC 2017: Harmanpreet Kaur Smashes 171 As India Beat Australia To Enter Finals

England emerged as the champions of the inaugural tournament, after which Australia went on to bag 3 consecutive World Cup titles. The West Indian women came out on top in 2016.

The Indian Women’s squad- Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Veda Krishnamurthy, Deepti Sharma, Tanya Bhatia (wicket-keeper), Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Anuja Patil, Ekta Bisht, D Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Pooja Vastrakar, Arundhati Reddy.