Harmanpreet Kaur Named T20I Captain, While Suzie Bates As ODI Captain In ICC Women’s Team Of The Year

| December 31 , 2018 , 15:52 IST

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced the women’s ODI and T20I teams of the year. New Zealand player Suzie Bates was named as captain of the 50-over side and Harmanpreet Kaur of India appointed captain of the 20-over side.

The two sides have been selected by the same voting academy, which comprised members of the media and broadcasters who also voted for the annual women’s individual awards to be announced later today, and took into consideration player performances in the 2018 calendar year.

Blackcaps' Bates appointment as the ODI captain is a recognition of her contribution in inspiring her side to the second position in the ICC Women’s Championship after three rounds. In the seven ODIs this year, Bates has scored 438 runs with two centuries and a half-century. The New Zealand player is presently ranked seventh in the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s Players Rankings for ODI Batters.

ALSO READ: ICC Women’s World Cup: Australia Hammers England By 8-Wicket To Grab Their 4th Title

Harmanpreet Kaur has been rewarded for leading her side to the semi-final of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 in the Caribbean this November. In that tournament, Kaur scored 183 runs at a strike-rate of 160.5, while in the 25 matches in the calendar year, she accumulated 663 runs at a strike-rate of 126.2. Kaur is ranked third in the MRF Tyres ICC Women’s Player Rankings for T20I Batters.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

1. Smriti Mandhana (India)
2. Tammy Beaumont (England)
3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand) (captain)
4. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa)
5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)
6. Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper)
7. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa)
8. Deandra Dottin (Windies)
9. Sana Mir (Pakistan)
10. Sophie Ecclestone (England)
11. Poonam Yadav (India)

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year (in batting order):

1. Smriti Mandhana (India)
2. Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper)
3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
4. Harmanpreet Kaur (India) (captain)
5. Natalie Sciver (England)
6. Ellyse Perry (Australia)
7. Ashleigh Gardner (Australia)
8. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)
9. Megan Schutt (Australia)
10. Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh)
11. Poonam Yadav (India)