Asia Cup Super-4: After 23 Years, India To Face Bangladesh At Dubai

| September 21 , 2018 , 13:52 IST

Indian team after their extraordinary performance against the arch-rivals Pakistan will be aiming a comfortable victory over Bangladesh in their 1st game of the Super-4 of the Asia Cup 2018 at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium here on Friday.

Last time the two sides met, Dinesh Karthik played a blinder as he hit a last-ball six with five required to help a second-string India clinch the three-nation T20 Nidahas Trophy in March 2018.

It is learnt that the Indian team will face Bangladesh in UAE after a span time of 23-years and with no surprise the Tigers are now a well-groomed 50-over side. The Men in Blue must be aware of the Bangladeshis who are also known as party spoilers.    

Rohit's worry will be the team combination as Hardik Pandya has been ruled out of the tournament owing to back spasms, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar might be rested after back-to-back games against Hong Kong and Pakistan.

ALSO READAsia Cup 2018: Hong Kong Wins Many Hearts In Their 26-Runs Loss To India

The batsmen have more or less been good so far with opener Shikhar Dhawan presently leads the run-scorer tally with 173 runs from two matches. The middle order comprising Ambati Rayudu and Dinesh Karthik too, look in good touch with the bat.

However, it will be a difficult task in finding a perfect team combination after missing the services of all-rounder Hardik Pandya, R.Jadeja will be an expected replacement of the all-rounder in the upcoming fixture.

Look at the squads of both the team:

India - Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, M.S.Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar.

Bangladesh - Masrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan (VC), Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Mithun, Litton Kumar Das (wicket-keeper), Mushfiqur Rahim, Ariful Haque, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Haider Rony.