Congress Chief Rahul Gandhi Appoints 6 AICC Secretaries For UP

| February 20 , 2019 , 13:32 IST

Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Tuesday appointed six Congress secretaries for Uttar Pradesh with three each being given the responsibility of UP East and UP West.

Zubair Khan, Kumar Ashish, and Bajirao Khade were named as AICC secretaries attached to Priyanka Gandhi, a party statement said.

It said Rana Goswami, Dhiraj Gurjar, and Rohit Chaudhary were named as AICC secretaries attached to Scindia.

Prakash Joshi and Naseeb Singh were relieved from their duties as AICC secretaries, the statement said.

With the announcement of these names, Congress has chosen a blend of experienced and low-key faces of the organisation to serve as the secretary for both regions of the politically significant Uttar Pradesh.

Priyanka Gandhi and Scindia held a series of discussions with party workers last week in Lucknow, with at least one session lasting through the night.

ALSO READ: 'BJP Govt Is Punishing The Corrupt And Rewarding The Honest': PM Modi Says In Varanasi

The Congress is trying to revive itself in the state where it faces a challenge from the Bharatiya Janata Party as well as from the alliance of Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party.

Priyanka Gandhi and Jyotiraditya Scindia were appointed AICC general secretary in-charge of UP East and UP west respectively in January and took charge earlier this month.