YSR Congress MPs To Resign After Budget Session If Special Status Not Granted To Andhra Pradesh

| March 27 , 2018 , 11:02 IST

The Opposition party of Andhra Pradesh, the YSR Congress which has 9 MPs on Monday announced that all of their MPs would resign if the Parliament Budget Session 2018 was adjourned sine die before the centre accepted its demand to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

YSRC Parliamentary Party leader Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy said that the decision was taken during a meeting chaired by party president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy in Guntur district.

"Our president has directed us to submit the resignations immediately after the parliament is adjourned sine die (without conceding the party's demand), whenever it would be and we need not wait for the April 6 deadline as specified earlier," Rajamohan Reddy said.

ALSO READ: Congress To Support YSR Congress & TDP No-Trust Motion Against Centre Over AP Special Category Status

The announcement was made amidst reports of the parliament session being cut short.

"We have been honest and sincere on the issue from announcing the resignation to the no-confidence motion and have placed them before the people. Our main aim is to highlight our efforts and mount pressure on the centre to implement the assurances given in the House," he said.

The YSR Congress on March 16 had announced that it would be submitting a 'no-confidence' motion against the government over its refusal in granting special category status to Andhra Pradesh. The state's ruling TDP also pledged support to the motion, as well as other parties including the national Congress party.

However, due to repeated adjournments, the 'no-confidence' motion is yet to be presented in Parliament.

Since the Union Budget 2018 was announced by Finance Minister Arun Jaitley on February 1, Andhra Pradesh MPs have been conducting protests demanding a 'Special Category Status' for the state as was promised during bifurcation but was missing from the budget.