Vijay Rupani Sworn-In As Gujarat CM For 2nd Term, Nitin Patel As Deputy CM

| December 26 , 2017 , 14:45 IST

The incumbent Chief Minister of Gujarat Vijay Rupani on Tuesday was once again sworn in as the Gujarat CM for a fresh term, along with Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel who took the oath as deputy CM again.

In a show of BJP power, in attendance at the swearing-in ceremony were Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah, Union Ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad, Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh and Ram Vilas Paswan. Other attendees included Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath, Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje Scindia, Chhattisgarh CM Raman Singh and former Gujarat CMs Keshubhai Patel and Shankersinh Vaghela.

Although the BJP secured a clear victory in the Gujarat state elections, it won with comparatively lesser margins as the saffron party won 99 seats, a total of 16 seats less than last time, casting doubts on the candidacy of Vijay Rupani for another term as Chief Minister. However, following the legislature party meeting of new Gujarat MLAs, Vijay Rupani was voted for another term.

While the BJP party's performance in Gujarat was diminished as compared to last time, Congress emerged stronger, securing 77 seats. The success of Congress was largely credited to the extensive campaigning conducted by party President Rahul Gandhi.