UP Civic Polls 2017: BJP's Victorious Dangal, Congress-SP Nowhere In Competition

| December 1 , 2017 , 17:51 IST

The Yogi-Adityanath-led BJP has left the opposition gawking while the ruling party once again moved away with the trophy. Victoriously leading in 14 out of the 16 mayoral seats in Uttar Pradesh civic polls held in 3 phases, Bhartiya Janata Party has beaten Congress, Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party.

While BJP claimed the majority of the seats, BSP had to be satisfied with only 2 seats of Aligarh and Jhansi. However, Congress and SP, two parties which joined hands during UP elections this year were left with no seats in hand. BSP though was giving tough competition to the ruling party in the beginning but later lost its grip.

Despite the remarkable victory in the mayoral seats of prestigious Ayodhya and Varanasi, the loss at Yogi's bastion town Gorakhpur was apparent and painful. An independent candidate reportedly was able to defeat BJP in ward no 68, which soured the magical victory for BJP a bit.

ALSO READ: UP Civic Polls 2017: Voting Ends For Final Phase 3

Not just BJP but Congress vice-President Rahul Gandhi also lost his bastion Amethi to the ruling party in all the Nagar Panchayat seats. After the counting for all the 652 urban local bodies began at 8 am under tight security, SP was closely analysing the results to make sure that nothing unjustified takes place.

Taking a jibe at Congress for dreaming for winning Gujarat elections, a BJP leader said, "The point proved by these results is that while we continue to be accepted by the people for our good and development-oriented work, the Congress is not even able to save its own fiefdoms, forget their daydream to win Gujarat."

In the past, the BJP has enjoyed a majority in most of these urban bodies. In 2012, when the Samajwadi Party had formed the state government, the BJP had mayors in 12 of the 14 municipal corporations. Congress, SP and BSP could be blamed to their low-key campaigning in comparison to Yogi's development card.