This Year, These 8 States Will Go To Polls, Setting The Tone For 2019 General Elections

| January 1 , 2018 , 15:00 IST

The year 2017 witnessed state assembly elections in 7 states, namely Punjab, Goa, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur, Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat. Out of the 7 states, BJP emerged the winner in Goa, UP, Uttarakhand, Manipur, Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat, leaving only Punjab for the Congress.

In 2018, the 8 states going to polls are Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram. Currently, BJP is forming the government in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and Chhattisgarh. Congress, meanwhile, has the government in  Karnataka, Meghalaya, and Mizoram. In Nagaland, the government has been formed by the Naga People's Front, and in Tripura, the government is from Communist Party of India (Marxist).

ALSO READ: BJP Under Modi Not Unbeatable, Economy In 2019 Will Be Decisive Factor: Chidambaram

The 8 states going to polls in 2018 will be sending 99 MPs to the 17th Lok Sabha elections in 2019, and are expected to have an influence on the final outcome of the 2019 elections.

Although the state elections in 2017 witnessed a sort of 'saffron wave' taking over with the BJP winning successive victories, the party will reportedly have a more difficult time in the 2018 state elections.

While Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Tripura, and Nagaland are considered to be an easy win for the BJP, Karnataka and Rajasthan will likely be more difficult. The incumbent Congress government in Karnataka is expected to give up a tough fight to the BJP. In Rajasthan, the current BJP government is facing opposition due to unrest by farmers, unemployed youth, Gujjar agitation and most recently the spate of lynching by cow vigilantes.