Tamil Nadu Cabinet Recommends Release Of 7 Rajiv Gandhi Assassination Convicts

News World India | 0
| September 10 , 2018 , 13:31 IST

The Tamil Nadu state Cabinet on Sunday recommended to the Governor of the State Banwarilal Purohit to release all the 7 convicts in the assassination of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi.

The cabinet decided to release the convicts V Sriharan alias Murugan, T Suthanthiraraja alias Santhan, A G Perarivalan alias Arivu, Jayakumar, Robert Payas and Nalini, under Article 161 of the Constitution, which relates to the power of the Governor to grant pardons and to suspend, remit and commute sentences in certain cases.

All the seven convicts are serving a life sentence for their role in the assassination of former prime minister Rajiv Gandhi by an LTTE suicide bomber on May 21, 1991 in nearby Sriperumpudur

AIADMK leader D. Jayakumar said that the decision for the recommendation to Governor Banwarilal Purohit was made in a cabinet meeting led by Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami.

Assistance of The Supreme Court

The Supreme Court Bench of Justices Ranjan Gogoi, Navin Sinha and KM Joseph passed an order to this effect on Thursday.

The order read, “It appears that an application under Article 161 of the Constitution has been filed before the Governor of Tamil Nadu by the respondent A.G.Perarivalan @ Arivu. Naturally, the authority concerned will be at liberty to decide the said application as deemed fit.”

Centre’s Take

The Central Government had however opposed the Tamil Nadu Government’s proposal to release the 7 accused involved in the assassination of the former Prime Minister of India Rajiv Gandhi. Responding to the apex court on August 10 the central government had called it a dangerous precedent.