Tamil Nadu: BJP & AIADMK Announce Alliance For Lok Sabha Election

| February 19 , 2019 , 18:55 IST

Tamil Nadu chief minister E Palaniswamy, his deputy O Panneerselvam and Union Minister Piyush Goyal declared a pre-poll alliance between the BJP and AIADMK for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections on Tuesday in a joint press meet.

They reached on an agreement for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, with five seats being allotted to the national party.

“The AIADMK and the BJP will have an alliance for the Lok Sabha elections which will be a mega and winning alliance,” Panneerselvam said. “The BJP will contest on five seats in the Lok Sabha elections and we will be contesting together in Tamil Nadu and also in Puducherry.”

He added, “All 40 seats in Tamil Nadu (39 seats) and Puducherry will be won by us.”

Tamil Nadu has 39 Lok Sabha constituencies. In 2014, the AIADMK swept the general elections in Tamil Nadu with 39 seats and the BJP could win only one seat

The AIADMK has also clinched a deal with the PMK, offering the Vanniyar-based party seven out of 40 seats, including one in the neighbouring union territory of Puducherry. The PMK would also support the AIADMK in the coming bypolls.

In the ruling AIADMK, 18 party MLAs were disqualified for anti-party activities. Recently Sports Minister P Balakrishna Reddy lost his membership of the House after being onvicted by a court in a case of alleged rioting.  Tiruvarur (M Karunanidhi, DMK) and Tiruparankundram (A K Bose, AIADMK) seats fell vacant following the deaths of the sitting MLAs last year.