Show Of Opposition Unity In No-Confidence Motion Against NDA Government On Friday

| July 19 , 2018 , 17:36 IST

The no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led NDA government was initiated by the TDP. However, as Friday, the appointed date of discussion in the Lok Sabha approaches, various Opposition parties have backed the no-confidence motion, despite the BJP having an overwhelming majority in the Lok Sabha.

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, on the first day of the Monsoon Session of Parliament on July 18, accepted the no-confidence motion against the central government moved by Opposition parties including the Congress, NCP and TDP. The discussion on the no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha was scheduled for Friday.

TDP President and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu, who led the no-confidence motion against the centre for not granting special category status to the state, reached out to all the MPs to seek support for the no-confidence motion.

"In view of continued adamant attitude of BJP led NDA Govt, TDP has moved No-Confidence Motion against them. I appeal to you to support the motion moved by our MPs," wrote Naidu in individual letters to the MPs.

In addition to the original parties of the Congress with 48 MPs, TDP with 16 MPs and NCP with 7 MPs and Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD with 4 MPs, Arvind Kejriwal's AAP with 4 MPs and Mamata Banerjee's TMC with 34 MPs, have also issued whips to their respective parties to vote in favour of the no-confidence motion.

TMC leader Derek O' Brien had on Wednesday evening confirmed that said that they have issued a whip to all 34 members of TMC.

"We have decided that we will send all 34 TMC Lok Sabha MPs on a whip to be present for discussion and voting of no-confidence motion in the Parliament on Friday," said O'Brien.

Tamil Nadu's AIADMK has yet not confirmed whether it would be supporting the no-confidence motion. While the DMK working president MK Stalin requested AIADMK to support the motion, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E.K Palaniswami in a statement said that the issue concerned Andhra Pradesh and not them.

"In spite of having no option to vote for no-confidence motion in Parliament, DMK supports the no confidence motion brought by TDP. We request AIADMK also to support no confidence motion in Parliament," MK Stalin said.

Tamil Nadu CM Palaniswami said, "It is Andhra's issue and they brought this, not us. We in Tamil Nadu struggled for 22 days in parliament for Cauvery Management Board issue. Which state came forward and helped in our cause?"

Meanwhile, the Shiv Sena has expressed its support for the BJP in voting against the no-confidence motion, and even controversial BJP leaders such as Shatrughan Sinha, who have criticised the party in the past, have confirmed their support to the NDA against the no-confidence motion.

Regardless of the numbers the Opposition manages to muster, the BJP has an overwhelming majority with 273 MPs, enough to dismiss the no-confidence motion on its own. Apart from the Shiv Sena, the Akali Dal, Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party, Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) are also said to be throwing their weight behind the BJP.