Sanjay Singh Wins Race To Represent AAP In Rajya Sabha, Former Journalist Ashutosh Follows Closely Behind

News World India | 0
| December 30 , 2017 , 18:02 IST

Delhi's ruling Aap Aadmi Party (AAP) recently made headlines due to the dilemma faced by party officials to file nominations for three Rajya Sabha MPs. While CM Arvind Kejriwal and Deputy CM Manish Sisodia are holidaying in Andaman and Nicobar Islands, media reports suggest that Sanjay Singh's name has been finalised as one of the party representatives in Upper House.

With a number of contenders in the race, speculations about the names of AAP's loyal leaders Sanjay and Ashutosh were high in the air. While Singh has reportedly made the cut already, the former journalist is not far behind his fellow and might be the second to make it on the list. No information has been parted on the possibility of Poet-turned-politician Kumar Vishwas' name.

The last date for filing the nominations is January 5, 2018, whereas the elections will take place on 12 January. Sources have confirmed that Sanjay Singh's name has been finalised for nominations, however, no official statement has been released by the political party in this regard.

Sanjay's led the party in this year's Punjab assembly elections where AAP failed to win the elections but did remarkably well in comparison to 2014 national elections. Kumar Vishwas' name will probably be slashed from the list due to the scene created by his supporters in party office demanding his seat in Rajya Sabha.