Rebel JD(U) Leaders Sharad Yadav And Ali Anwar Disqualified From Rajya Sabha

| December 5 , 2017 , 09:08 IST

Responding to a petition, Chairman of the Rajya Sabha (RS) M Venkaiah Naidu on Monday evening issued orders for the disqualification of rebel Janata Dal-United (U) leaders Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwar from the Upper House.

A petition calling for the disqualification of Yadav and Anwar had been filed by JD (U) MP RCP Singh on September 2 on the grounds of defection.  

In the order given by the Rajya Sabha Chairman, Naidu said that Yadav and Anwar have voluntarily given up their membership of JD(U) and that they had been elected to the Rajya Sabha on the basis of their membership to the party.

ALSO READ: 'Break The Party', Bihar CM Nitish Kumar Dares JD(U) Leader Sharad Yadav

Citing paragraph 2 (1)(a) of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India, Naidu said that Yadav and Anwar 'have thus ceased to be members of the Rajya Sabha with immediate effect.'

JD(U) chief spokesperson K C Tyagi had given the example of Tamil Nadu assembly speaker disqualifying 18 AIADMK MLAs from the House, while seeking similar action against Yadav and Anwar.

Spokesman of JD(U) Neeraj Kumar welcomed the Rajya Sabha secretariat's decision, calling it a victory of the Indian Constitution.

"The decision will set an example for people like Sharad Yadav and Ali Anwar to not take steps against majority decisions in the party," he said.

A falling out between Sharad Yadav and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar took place when Kumar ended the Grand Alliance in Bihar with the Congress and RJD and formed government in the state with the BJP and other NDA partners in July this year.

Poda De

Well-deserved punishment of expulsion from Rajya Sabha to the thoughtless leaders - SharadaYadava and AliaAnwara.