Rajya Sabha Elections 2018: BJP Nominates 18 Candidates, Congress To Field 12

| March 12 , 2018 , 12:04 IST

Ahead of the last date for Rajya Sabha election nominations on Monday, national parties the BJP and  Congress announced the names of their respective candidates on Sunday.

The voting for the biennial elections to the Rajya Sabha from 16 states for a total of 58 members is set to take place on March 23, while March 15 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

The Rajya Sabha members will be elected from Uttar Pradesh (10 members), Bihar (6 members), Maharashtra (6 members), Madhya Pradesh (5 members), West Bengal (5 members), Gujarat (4 members), Karnataka (4 members), Odisha (3 members), Rajasthan (3 members), Andhra Pradesh (3 members), Telangana (3 members), Jharkhand (2 members), Haryana (1 member), Chhattisgarh (1 member), Himachal Pradesh (1 member) and Uttarakhand (1 member).


The BJP on Sunday announced the names of 18 candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections, after a meeting of the party's Central Election Committee. The party has fielded candidates for 9 states only.

The candidates include including former Maharashtra Chief Minister Narayan Rane, BJP General Secretary Saroj Pandey who will contest from Chhattisgarh, the party's Media Cell Convenor Anil Baluni from Uttarakhand, and Lt General DP Vats (retd) from Haryana. The maximum number of candidates (7) have been nominated from Uttar Pradesh, where the party has a firm majority and vacancy of 10 seats.


The Congress party on Sunday announced the names of 10 candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections in 7 states, approved by party president Rahul Gandhi.

On Monday, the last date of nominations, the Congress party announced the selection of 2 more candidates that had been approved by party president Rahul Gandhi, bringing the total number of candidates nominated by Congress to 12.

The candidates include Abhishek Manu Singhvi from West Bengal, senior journalist Kumar Ketkar from Maharashtra and former Union Minister Naranbhai Rathwa.

The maximum number of candidates fielded by the Congress party are in Karnataka, with 3 nominations, namely Dalit poet L. Hanumanthaiah, Vokkalinga leader G.C. Chandrasekhar and Syed Naseer Hussain.