Punished For Speaking The Truth: Kumar Vishwas On AAP's Rajya Sabha Nominations

News World India | 0
| January 3 , 2018 , 16:07 IST

After the excruciating wait, Aam Aadmi Party announced its three candidates for Rajya Sabha but many influential names were surprisingly missing from the list. While party's long-serving member Sanjay Singh made the cut, former journalist Ashutosh's name was nowhere on the list.

The name of AAP's rebellious leader was also missing from the list which didn't surprise many due to his sour relations with the party chief. However, the leader was left disappointed with the party's decision and declared a silent war against Arvind Kejriwal.

The poet-turned-politician's supporters had earlier staged a protest in party's office demanding for his ticket to Rajya Sabha but the leaders decided otherwise. Upon being avoided for the Upper House nominations, Vishwas bellowed that he was being "punished for speaking the truth."

ALSO READ: Sanjay Singh, Sushil Gupta & ND Gupta To Represent AAP In Rajya Sabha

Delhi's Deputy CM Manish Sisodia confirmed that Sanjay Singh, Sushil Gupta and Narayan Das Gupta will represent the party in Parliament. Notably, both the Guptas are outsiders and Sushil even contested elections against AAP in previous elections.

Vishwas is disappointed with the party's choice expressed his displeasure along the lines, "Whatever the name of those Guptas, congratulations to Kejriwal and them for loyal work to AAP...They will now sit where Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Indira Gandhi and other stalwarts sat...I have to say, I have never felt more disappointed with this party. They couldn't have been more blatant about their shady dealings."

Following his criticism of various party decisions since last year, his opinions were not setting well with the party leaders. Making his banter with Arvind Kejriwal public, Kumar cited, "I was told by Kejriwal you have died but I will not let you become a martyr...Today I can say, don't interfere with a dead body. Don't spread the bad smell."

Delhi is currently being represented by Janardan Dwivedi, Parvez Hashmi, Karan Singh in Rajya Sabha whose terms end in January next year. Rajya Sabha elections for the three Delhi seats will take place on January 16.