Opposition Unity Marks Rahul Gandhi's First Ever Iftar Party

| June 14 , 2018 , 10:35 IST

Congress President Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday evening hosted his first ever Iftar party, ahead of Eid on Saturday and prominent Opposition leaders marked their presence, as well as large-scale participation by representatives of the Muslim community.

The attendees included former Presidents Pranab Mukherjee and Pratibha Patil, former vice president Hamid Ansari, Sharad Yadav, CPI(M) chief Sitaram Yechury, senior Bahujan Samaj Party leader Satish Mishra, DMK's Kanimozhi, RJD's Manoj Jha, and Trinamool Congress leader Dinesh Trivedi. There was no representative from the Samajwadi Party despite an invitation to its chief Akhilesh Yadav and senior party leader Ramgopal Yadav.

The Iftar party was hosted by the Congress after 2 years, on the very same year that President Ram Nath Kovind rejected hosting an Iftar party at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

"Good food, friendly faces and great conversation make for a memorable Iftar!  We were honoured to have two former Presidents, Pranab Da & Smt Pratibha Patil ji join us, along with leaders from different political parties, the media, diplomats and many old & new friends," tweeted Congress President Rahul Gandhi.

Meanwhile, the BJP termed the Congress iftar party as political engineering.

“We talk about development and dignity... The Congress’s iftar is for political engineering. No one has ever tried to organise an iftar for social engineering. We have done it, especially when we are talking about Muslim women, triple talaq and other issues related to their empowerment,” minority affairs minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

Earlier in May, there was a massive show of Opposition unity during the swearing in ceremony of JD(S)'s H D Kumaraswamy as the chief minister of Karnataka, representing the Congress-JD(S) post-poll alliance in the state.

UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress President Rahul Gandhi, BSP chief Mayawati, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu,  Kerala CM Pinarai Vijayan, BSP Supremo Mayawati, Samajwadi Party's Akhilesh Yadav, RJD leader Tejashvi Yadav, JMM leader Hemant Soren, CPI(M) leader Sitaram Yechury and RLD leader Ajit Singh were in attendance.