NDPP's Neiphiu Rio Sworn-In As Nagaland Chief Minister Today For 4th Term

| March 8 , 2018 , 12:37 IST

Nationalist Democratic People's Party (NDPP)'s Neiphiu Rio took oath as the new Chief Minister of Nagaland on Thursday, and BJP's Y Patton as the deputy chief minister along with 11 other cabinet ministers. Rio is the only Nagaland Chief Minister to have served 3 consecutive terms, between 2003 and 2014.

The oath-taking ceremony was attended by Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, MoS Home Kiren Rijiju, BJP president Amit Shah, BJP national secretary Ram Madhav, Manipur CM N Biren Singh, Arunachal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu, Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal and Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma. 

Despite the ruling Naga Peoples Front (NPF) being the single largest party in the state, winning 27 seats, NDPP, allying with BJP, JD(U) and an Independent were able to successfully stake a claim for the government.

ALSO READ: Hopes Dashed, Nagaland Failed To Elect A Female Representative Once Again!

Governor P B Acharya received letters of support for Neiphiu Rio candidature as CM from 18 legislators of the NDPP, 12 from BJP, 1 from the Janata Dal (united), and one from an Independent MLA, comfortable securing a majority.

Initially, outgoing chief minister TR Zeliang of the Naga People's Front (NPF) had refused to resign, hoping for an alliance with the BJP to form government in Nagaland, but finally submitted his resignation on Tuesday.