Muslim Law Board Approves Setting Up 5 Sharia Courts, 5 Others 'Under Consideration'

| July 16 , 2018 , 11:39 IST

The All India Muslim Personal Law Board (AIMPLB) has approved the setting up of 5 Sharia courts, also known as Darul Qaza, while applications for setting up 5 other Sharia courts are currently under consideration, board secretary Zafaryab Jilani said on Sunday.

According to reports, from the 5 approved Sharia courts, 1 will be set up in Kannauj in Uttar Pradesh, 1 in Gujarat's Surat, and 1 in Maharashtra. The locations of the last 2 Sharia courts that have been approved have yet to be disclosed.

ALSO READ: Raj Thackeray Calls For 'Sharia' Like Laws To Check Crimes Against Women

So far, from February 10 to June 30 this year, 3 Sharia courts have been set up, with 2 in Mumbai and 1 in Lucknow, Jilani said.

AIMPLB secretary and legal counsel Zafaryab Jilani dismissed reports of the Board seeking to set up Sharia courts in every district of the country, saying that the Board sets up courts only when a proposal is sent to it.

"Local people sponsor it and bear the financial burden. Board appoints the Qazi. We establish it when a proposal comes to us," Jilani said.

"The Supreme Court has already stated that it is not a parallel judicial system. The ruling by Qazis is not binding on anybody. However, more than 90 per cent people accept it. These are more like arbitration councils," he said on the Sharia courts.