Delhi Metro Magenta Line Inaugurated By PM Modi & UP CM Yogi, Connecting Noida To South Delhi

| December 25 , 2017 , 14:06 IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Monday inaugurated the Magenta Line of the Delhi Metro, which connects Noida with South Delhi.

The section of the Magenta Line that is opening has nine stations: Botanical Garden, Okhla Bird Sanctuary, Kalindi Kunj, Jasola Vihar-Shaheen Bagh, Okhla Vihar, Jamia Milia Islamia, Sukhdev Vihar, Okhla NSIC and Kalkaji Mandir.

ALSO READ: 6 Days Before Inauguration, Delhi Metro's Magenta Line Train Crashes Into Wall During Trial Run

The 12.64 km stretch that is being inaugurated is only a part of the longer 38.23 km Botanical Garden-Janakpuri West corridor under the Phase III plan of the Delhi Metro.

The new Magenta Line of the Delhi Metro will reduce the travel time between Noida and south Delhi to 19 minutes with a total of 9 stations, saving 45 minutes of travel time.  As per DMRC, the cost of the journey from Botanical Garden and Kalkaji Mandir will be Rs 30, as compared to the Rs 50 cost of the journey from Noida to south Delhi by means of interchange stations.

The very first line of the Delhi Metro, the Red Line from Dilshad Garden to Rithala was also inaugurated on December 25, in 2002 by then Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

In 2017, PM Modi has inaugurated two other metro lines as well, namely, the Kochi Metro in June and the Hyderabad Metro in November.