Madhya Pradesh By-Elections: Voting Ends In Mungaoli And Kolaras

News World India | 0
| February 24 , 2018 , 17:58 IST

Following the high-voltage campaigning by the nation's leading political parties BJP and Congress, the by-elections voting for the two constituencies of Madhya Pradesh, Mungaoli and Kolaras, has ended. Both the parties are keen to establish their majority in the ongoing elections.

Congress has appointed Mahendra Singh Yadav and Brijendra Singh Yadav to represent the party in Kolaras and Mungaoli respectively whereas Baisahab Yadav and Devendra Jain are the BJP candidates for the respective constituencies. The results of by-polls will be declared on February 28.

These by-polls could be seen as the battle of prestige between Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia. The fate of 22 candidates contesting elections from Kolaras and 13 candidates of Mungaoli will be sealed post the by-elections.

ALSO READ: Dileep Singh Bhuria, BJP MP From Ratlam In Madhya Pradesh Passes Away

The total number of voters in Kolaras are 2,44,457 whereas and 1,91,009 people are expected to vote in Mungaoli. 15 VVPATs in Kolaras and 17 VVPATs in Mungaoli were earlier found to be malfunctioning during mock poll but were replaced later. 

As per latest reports, EVM at Kolaras' booth number 57 is currently not working forcing the voters to wait outside the venue. By 10 am, 16 percent voter turnout was recorded in Kolaras and 17 percent voter turnout was recorded in Mungaoli.

Both Mungaoli and Kolaras were earlier held by the Congress and fall under Jyotiraditya Scindia's parliamentary constituency Guna. The former royal has claimed in a rally that the contest was not between two parties but "between Shivraj Singh Chouhan and me".