Madhya Pradesh By-Elections Results: Congress Takes Lead As BJP Follows Closely Behind

News World India | 1
| February 28 , 2018 , 19:49 IST

The fate of the by-election contenders for two constituencies of Madhya Pradesh will be sealed today are the votes counting gets completed. Congress has already won the elections in Mungaoli and is maintaining a clear lead in Kolaras.

In Mungaoli, the Congress candidate Brijendra Singh Yadav claimed 70,808 votes whereas the BJP candidate Bai Sahab Yadav only had to be satisfied with 68,684 votes. In Kolaras, 15 of 23 rounds of counting has ended and Congress candidate Mahendra Singh Yadav is leading by 6,200 votes.

The demise of Congress MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli in Ashoknagar district) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras in Shivpuri district) necessitated the by-elections. Despite high-voltage campaigning, BJP candidates weren't able to perform well in the polls.

ALSO READ: Madhya Pradesh By-Polls: EC Goes Soft On CM Shivraj Singh Chauhan For Violating Model

Notably, the election results will determine the voters' mood for the upcoming Assembly elections scheduled later this year. These by-polls were being seen as the battle of prestige between Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Both Mungaoli and Kolaras were earlier held by the Congress and fall under Jyotiraditya Scindia's parliamentary constituency Guna. The former royal has claimed in a rally that the contest was not between two parties but "between Shivraj Singh Chouhan and me".

Results for Odisha by-polls for Bijepur Assembly seat were also awaited today, which has been claimed by BJP candidate Rita Sahu by nearly 42,000 votes defeating BJP’s Ashok Panigrahi. The victorious leader won the seat which fell vacant after her husband, Subal Sahu's demise in August 2017.