Lok Sabha Polls: BJP Chief Amit Shah Appoints In Charges For 17 States

| December 26 , 2018 , 19:47 IST

BJP President Amit Shah appointed in charges of 17 states for the Lok Sabha polls on Wednesday. Union minister Prakash Javadekar drafted to head the Lok Sabha campaign in Rajasthan.

The other appointees are Arup Singh for Odisha, Captain Abhimanyu for Punjab and Chandigarh, Thawarchand Gehlot for Uttarakhand, Nitin Naveen for Sikkim, Tirth Singh Rawat for Himachal Pradesh and Arvind Limbaoli for Telangana.

BJP appointed three in-charges for Uttar Pradesh, Govardhan Jhadapiya, Dushyant Gautam and Narottam Mishra to give a tough fight to the BSP and SP alliance.

BJP general secretaries Bhupender Yadav and Anil Jain have been assigned Bihar and Chhattisgarh respectively.

ALSO READ: BJP chief Amit Shah to unveil largest and tallest Indian flag today

In the Hindi heartland states of Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, where the BJP ceded power to a resurgent Congress, BJP appointed senior leaders to lead the party for another electoral triumph.

Mahendra Singh and OP Mathur will be in-charge of Assam and Gujarat respectively.

Rajya Sabha member V Muraleedharan and party secretary Deodhar Rao will be in charge of Andhra Pradesh.

On Tuesday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi inducted a memorial of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, along with President Ram Nath Kovind on his birth anniversary at Rashtriya Smriti Sthal.

BJP chief Amit Shah and former PM Manmohan Singh were among the eminent personalities who attended the prayer meeting at the memorial near Rajghat.