Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Samajwadi Party's First List Out, Mulayam Singh Yadav To Contest From Mainpuri Seat

News World India | 0
| March 8 , 2019 , 14:26 IST

The Samajwadi Party released the first list of six candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections on Friday. The first name on the SP list is that of party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav who will contest from Mainpuri, a constituency he has represented four times in the past.

The list included three general and an equal number of reserved seats -- for the elections that are expected to be notified this weekend or early next week.

The Party also announced that Dharmendra Yadav will contest from Badaun, Akshay Yadav from Firozabad, Kamlesh Katheria from Etawah, Bhailal Kol from Robertsganj and Shabbir Valmiki from Bahraich.

The Samajwadi Party led by Akhilesh Yadav is contesting the Lok Sabha elections in an alliance with long-time rival Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party in the heartland state that sends the highest number of lawmakers to the lower house parliament at 80.

Earlier, the Congress had released its maiden list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections yesterday, fielding UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi from Rae Bareli and party president Rahul Gandhi from Amethi.

Also Read: Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First Poll List; Rahul Gandhi To Contest From Amethi

The announcement put an end to speculation that Sonia Gandhi may not contest in the upcoming polls due to health reasons and the party's newly appointed general secretary in-charge of east UP Priyanka Gandhi Vadra may be fielded from her constituency.