Bypolls: Gorakhpur Registers 43 Percent Voter Turnout, Phulpur 37 Percent And Araria Gets 57 Percent

| March 11 , 2018 , 19:14 IST

Voting for bypolls to 3 Lok Sabha seats took place on Sunday, for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur constituencies in Uttar Pradesh and the Araria constituency of Bihar.

In Bihar, apart from the Lok Sabha seat, two assembly seats of Jehanabad and Bhabua are also being contested.

Till 5 PM Gorakhpur recorded 43% voter turnout while Phulpur saw 37%. Araria Loksabha bypoll saw 57% voter turnout while Bhabhua and Jehanabad saw 54.3% and 50.6% voters respectively.

While the Uttar Pradesh constituencies fell vacant after Gorakhpur MP Yogi Adityanath became UP Chief Minister and Phulpur MP Keshav Prasad Maurya became deputy chief minister, all 3 Bihar seats fell vacant due to the death of their respective representatives.

ALSO READ: NWI EXCLUSIVE: CM Yogi Adityanath Speaks About Growth And Challenges In UP [WATCH]

The Lok Sabha seat for Araria, held by RJD Mohd Taslimuddin, fell vacant after his death, and the assembly seat for Jehanabad was vacated by the death of RJD lawmaker Mundrika Singh Yadav, and the Bhabua assembly seat was vacated after the death of the BJP's Anand Bhushan Pandey.

The BJP has expressed confidence in winning the UP seats, especially the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat which was represented by Yogi Adityanath for 5 consecutive terms before he was appointed Chief Minister.

Arch rivals Samajwadi Party and Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) have come together for the first time in decades in a new electoral agreement to fight the BJP. Mayawati has not fielded any candidate for the by-elections, announcing that her party workers "will vote for the candidate who is best positioned to defeat the BJP".

ALSO READ: BSP SP Forge Strategic Alliance Ahead Of Bypoll

UP CM Yogi Adityanath took a dig at the new alliance, calling it a "the coming together of a mongoose and a snake when a storm brews."

Meanwhile, the bypolls in Bihar are being considered as a direct battle between Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Opposition leader Tejashwi Yadav, who has been leading the RJD's campaign since his father Lalu Prasad Yadav was jailed in a corruption case.

The results for the bypolls will be declared on March 14.