Counting Begins In Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Left Is In Lead In Tripura

| March 3 , 2018 , 18:49 IST

Counting of votes began for assembly elections in the three northeastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland on Saturday. The election in Tripura was held on February 18 while elections in Meghalaya and Nagaland were held on February 27.

In Tripura, the tables appear to be turning with BJP emerging as a major challenger. The Manik Sarkar-led Left Front leads in 30 seats, comfortably ahead of the BJP which is leading in 22 seats. It is important to note that BJP had won zero seats in the 2013 elections and had got less than 2% of the total votes.

The Naga People's Front (NPF) has taken a 28-seat lead in the Nagaland. The party has been heading the Nagaland government with the BJP. Looks like Chief Minister TR Zeliang will likely get another term at the helm of the state.

ALSO READ: Tripura Exit Polls Predict Major Win For BJP, Ending 25-Year Left Front Rule

In Meghalaya, the Congress is leading with 20 votes.The NPP and the BJP are stuck at 9 and 7 seats respectively. Meghalaya CM and Congress leader Mukul Sangma is leading from his Ampati seat. Sangma is contesting from two seats Ampati and Songsak. 

Polling was held for 59 of 60 assembly seats in each of the three states.   

The election results will be declared on the Election Commission Of India's website.