Karnataka Elections 2018: Polling On May 12, Counting On May 15, Says Election Commission

| March 27 , 2018 , 12:58 IST

The Election Commission on Tuesday announced that the state assembly elections in Karnataka will be taking place on May 12, with the counting taking place on May 15. The term of the 224-member assembly in Karnataka comes to an end on May 28 and a new government would need to be formed by then.

Karnataka will have 56,696 polling stations, an increase of 9% from 52,034 in 2013, and VVPAT will be deployed all across the state.

Karnataka remains one of the few states in India where the Congress party is still in power, apart from Punjab, Meghalaya, and Mizoram. While the Congress will strive to maintain its grip in the southern state, the BJP has been conducting extensive campaigning since November last year, in an attempt to add another state to the 21 states it is currently ruling. Apart from helping in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, winning Karnataka would help the saffron party establish a base in South India.

ALSO READ: Siddaramaiah Takes A Dig At Star Campaigner Yogi Adityanath After BJP's Defeat In UP Bypolls

Chief Minister of Karnataka, Siddaramaiah has given stiff competition to BJP campaigners, including Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, with whom Siddaramaiah engaged in a 'twitter war' of sorts.

The BJP had formed the government in Karnataka between 2008-2013 with 110 seats in the state assembly but lost to the Congress in 2013 by winning only 40 seats as compared to the Congress's 122.

The BJP, since coming to power in 2014 has won the states of Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Assam and Manipur from the Congress party. BJP also won India's largest state Uttar Pradesh last year in a landslide victory and last month ended the Left's 25-year rule in Tripura.

Although the Congress has been facing difficulties due to the 'saffron wave' of the BJP winning states across the nation, the party's new president Rahul Gandhi has brought with him an infusion of success, resulting in improved performance in Gujarat state assembly elections and various bypolls.