JNUSU Election 2018: United Left Alliance Sweeps All 4 Top Posts

| September 16 , 2018 , 15:34 IST

As counting of votes for the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students' Union (JNUSU) polls came to an end after protests led to the suspension of counting for nearly 14 hours, the Left Alliance emerged as winner, sweeping all the 4 key posts in the elections, the results showed on Sunday.

From the Left Alliance, N Sai Balaji has been elected as President, Sarika Chaudhary as Vice President, Aejaz Ahmed Rather as the General Secretary and Amutha Jayadeep as the Joint Secretary.

The Left Alliance was formed with the combination of 4 left-wing parties, namely All India Students Association (AISA), Student Federation of India (SFI), Democratic Student Federation (DSF) and All India Student Federation (AISF).

ALSO READ: JNUSU Polls: Counting Halted As ABVP Members Vandalize Venue & Threaten EC Members

Other parties contesting the JNUSU polls were the Congress-backed National Student Union of India (NSUI), RSS-backed Akhil Bhartiya Vidhyarthi Parishad (ABVP), Dalit-centric Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students’ Association (BAPSA) and Rashtriya Janata Dal’s student wing Chhatra Rashtriya Janata Dal (CRJD).

The voter turnout in the JNUSU election on September 14, was 67.8 percent, believed to be the highest in six years.

The counting of votes was scheduled for Saturday but had to be halted after ABVP members breached the School of International Studies (SIS) building where the counting procedure was taking place.

ALSO READ: JNUSU Polls: Students Vote To Decide Future Of 8 Presidential Candidates

Sources told News World India that the ABVP members entered the counting area and made an attempt to steal the ballot boxes and also threatened the members of the election commission, after which students demand the blacklisting of the ABVP.

At the top university of Delhi, the results of the Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) elections 2018 were declared on September 13, with ABVP candidates winning the posts of President, Vice President and Joint Secretary, while NSUI won the post of Secretary. The NSUI alleged cheating in the results.