Jammu And Kashmir Administration Removes Security Of Five Hurriyat Leaders Separatists

| February 17 , 2019 , 12:58 IST

The Jammu and Kashmir administration issued orders to withdraw security of five separatist leaders including Hurriyat Conference Chairman Mirwaiz Umar Farooq on Sunday.

Abdul Ghani Bhat, Bilal Lone, Hashim Qureshi, Shabir Shah are among the others. However, there is no mention of pro-Pakistan separatist Syed Ali Shah Geelani in the order.

All security and any vehicles provided to them will stand withdrawn by today evening. No security forces or cover should be provided, under any pretext, to them or any other separatists. If they have any other facilities provided by the government, they are to be withdrawn forthwith. These instructions were provided by the Ministry of Defense.

On Friday evening, Home Minister Rajnath Singh had said that the safety was given to the people funded by Pakistan and its spy agency ISI should be reviewed. After this statement, speculation started that the government was considering the removal of separatist security.

India also hiked the customs duty to 200 percent on all goods imported from Pakistan following the withdrawal of the 'most-favored-nation' status accorded to Pakistan.

ALSO READ: ‘We Support India’s Right To Self-Defense’, US To NSA Ajit Doval On Pulwama Terror Attack

Forty CRPF personnel were killed and five injured on Thursday in one of the deadliest terror strikes in Jammu and Kashmir when a Jaish-E-Mohammad suicide bomber blew up an explosive-laden vehicle near their bus in Pulwama district.

The bus was a part of a convoy of 78 vehicles carrying CRPF personnel from Jammu To Srinagar.