Jai Ram Thakur Sworn-In As Himachal Pradesh CM, 10 MLAs Take Oath As Cabinet Ministers

| December 27 , 2017 , 11:39 IST

Jai Ram Thakur has been sworn-in as the 14th Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh on Wednesday, along with a 10 MLAs as Cabinet Ministers. The MLAs taking the oath are Mahendra Singh, Suresh Bhardwaj, Anil Sharma, Sarveen Choudhary, Ram Lal Markand, Vipin Singh Parmar, Virender Kanwar, Vikram Singh, Govind Singh and Rajiv Sahjal. 

The oath-taking of Jai Ram Thakur in Himachal Pradesh saw in attendance Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari and Rajnath Singh and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. 

Although Prem Kumar Dhumal had been announced as the BJP candidate for Himachal Pradesh chief minister ahead of the elections, when he failed to win from his own constituency of Sujanpur he backed out from the candidacy for Chief Minister.

ALSO READ: Jai Ram Thakur To Be Sworn In As New Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister On Dec 27

The BJP managed to oust the Congress from Himachal Pradesh by winning 44 seats out of 68 seat assembly in the recently held Assembly elections.

Jai Ram Thakur is a 5-term MLA, who won from Seraj constituency, defeating Congress candidate Chet Ram in the recent state elections. Thakur will be the first Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh hailing from the Mandi district, as most of the state's political leaders and chief ministers have belonged to Shimla, Kangra and Sirmour districts.

Winning his first election in 1998, Thakur was the Minister of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj in Himachal Pradesh from 2009-2012 under the BJP government of P K Dhumal.