Jai Ram Thakur To Be Sworn In As New Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister On Dec 27

| December 24 , 2017 , 15:30 IST

Putting an end to speculations, 5-time MLA Jai Ram Thakur has been announced as the new Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister. Jai Ram Thakur has previously served as the Minister of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj in the state cabinet under the BJP government from 2007 to 2012.

Thakur will be sworn in as the new Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister on December 27, in a ceremony to be attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. 

"Former CM Prem Kumar Dhumal Ji proposed Jairam Thakur Ji to be elected as the Legislature party leader. Shanta Kumar Ji & JP Nadda Ji also supported this proposal," said Narendra Singh Tomar, Central Observer.

The Himachal Pradesh assembly elections results marked a victory for the BJP party which won 44 seats, however, the BJP party's projected candidate for the Chief Minister post, Prem Kumar Dhumal lost from the Sujanpur constituency after which he withdrew his name from the CM candidacy.

ALSO READ: Post Winning Himachal Pradesh Elections, BJP Is Stuck At Chief Minister Candidate

Due to a lack of consensus among the newly elected MLAs, two central observers, namely, Minister of Defence Nirmala Sitharaman and Narendra Singh Tomar, returned to Delhi from Shimla on Friday to conduct fresh consultations with the central leadership.

P K Dhumal, meanwhile, on Saturday had officially confirmed that he was out of the race for the post of Himachal Pradesh chief minister, after he lost from the Sujanpur constituency to Congress party's Rajinder Rana.

"There is speculation in media that I am in race for the post of the chief minister. I had made it clear on the day of the result that I am not in any race," Dhumal said.

Although prominent BJP leaders such as former Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister P K Dhumal and state BJP chief Satpal Singh Satti lost in the state elections, the party overall secured a comfortable victory with 44 seats out of the total 68.