Former CM Neiphiu Rio Wins Nagaland Seat Unopposed, Before Polls On February 27

| February 13 , 2018 , 10:49 IST

Former Chief Minister of Nagaland Neiphiu Rio won the assembly election for his constituency of Northern Angami-II of Kohima district on Monday even as the state elections are scheduled for February 27.

As Monday marked the last date for withdrawal of nominations, his opponent withdrew, leaving 3-time former CM Neiphiu Rio as the uncontested winner of the seat, Chief Electoral Officer of Nagaland Abhijit Sinha said.

ALSO READ: Nagaland Parties Call For 'Solution Before Election', Refuse Polls Till Peace Deal Sorted

From the total of 256 applicants for the 60 constituency seats in Nagaland,  32 withdrew their papers and 29 were declared invalid, leaving a total of 195 candidates in the running for the February 27 state elections. However, Rio was the only uncontested candidate after his opponent, NPF Nominee Chupfu-o withdrew his papers.

The parties contesting for the Nagaland elections are: the ruling Naga People's Front (NPF) for 58 seats, the newly-floated Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) for 40 seats, the Congress for 18 seats, the BJP for 20 seats, the JD(U) for 13 seats, the National People's Party (NPP) for 25 seats, the NCP for 6 seats, the AAP for 3 seats, the LJP for 2 seats, and 11 Independent candidates.

The incumbent chief minister T R Zeliang is seeking a re-election from the Peren seat, for which Iherie Ndang of the NDPP and independent candidate Kengim Kulimbe are also contesting.

Although initially, all the Nagaland political parties had banded together against the state elections, calling for 'No Solution, No Election', over the delay in the Nagaland Peace Accord, the parties later agreed to conduct the elections.