Delhi HC Issues Notice To Centre, Delhi University Over ‘Privately Procured EVMs’ For DUSU Polls

| September 18 , 2018 , 09:52 IST

The Delhi High Court issued a notice to the Centre and the Delhi University on Monday, questioning why the electronic voting machines (EVMs) used in the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) polls were privately procured.

The Court has also issued a notice to the Delhi University Students’ Union president and directed the Centre to secure the voting machines that had been used in the polls that took place on September 12, results of which were declared on September 13. The next hearing has been scheduled for October 29.

The results of the DUSU elections 2018 showed RSS affiliated Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) candidates winning the posts of President, Vice President and Joint Secretary, while Congress-affiliated National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) won the post of Secretary.

The directives from the Delhi High Court came in response to a plea filed by 3 candidates of the Congress-affiliated National Students’ Union of India who alleged that the EVMs had been tampered with and that data from 7 EVMs had gone missing. The petition also questioned why the EVMs had been privately procured.

ALSO READ: DUSU Polls 2018: ABVP Wins 3 Posts, NSUI Winning 1 Alleges Cheating In Results

The counting of votes on September 13 for the DUSU polls had to be suspended for a few hours due to faulty EVMs and subsequent student protests. The office of the Chief Electoral Officer in Delhi confirmed then that the EVMs used in the DUSU election were not issued by the Election Commission and appeared to have been procured privately.

While the Election Commission of India vouched for the credibility of its own voting machines, it said it was not responsible for the procedures followed for polls held by state election commissions and other institutions. Even the ECI's EVMs have come under fire by Opposition parties, alleging that the machines have been tampered with in favour of the ruling BJP party.