As Deadline To 6 Ex-UP CMs To Vacate Govt Accommodations Expires, 5 Former CMs Move Out

| June 3 , 2018 , 10:49 IST

The Supreme Court's directive to 6 former Uttar Pradesh Chief Ministers to vacate their official government premises had announced a deadline of Sunday, as of which 5 former CMs have already moved out, except for Congress party leader and former CM Narayan Dutt Tiwari.

The UP estates department had issued notices to 6 former CMs, namely Narayan Dutt Tiwari, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Kalyan Singh, Mayawati, Rajnath Singh and Akhilesh Yadav to vacate official government premises.

The Supreme Court had on May 7 ruled that a former UP chief minister was not entitled to government accommodation for a lifetime, overruling a former amendment granting all former chief minister to occupy government bungalows for a lifetime.

ALSO READ: BJP Hits Back At Akhilesh Yadav For Narendra Modi Barb

The apex court directive had been met with opposition, especially by Samajwadi Party former CMs Akhilesh Yadav and Mulayam Singh Yadav and BSP chief Mayawati who said that they do not have alternate residences prepared.

"Mulayam Singh Yadav shifted to the VVIP guest house here yesterday, while Akhilesh Yadav, along with his MP wife Dimple and children, shifted here house today," the guest house's chief management officer Rajiv Kumar told PTI.

Meanwhile, N D Tiwari's wife Ujjwala Tiwari has sought more time from the UP estates department, citing ill health of her husband.

"He is bed-ridden for the past eight months and I am also not keeping well. It is not practically possible for me to come down to Lucknow and vacate the premises," she said to PTI.

Meanwhile, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh left the government allocated bungalow to live in his private residence in Gomti Nagar. Kalyan Singh, currently the Rajasthan Governor, had his belongings shifted from the government provided bungalow in UP to the official bungalow of his grandson Sandeep Singh who is a minister in the Yogi Adityanath UP government.