CSR Journal Excellence Awards 2017: Honouring Those Making A Change To Society

| November 14 , 2017 , 13:33 IST

The concept of CSR or Corporate Social Responsibility is growing rapidly in India and corporates are making significant efforts in improving society, apart from securing their profits.

To honour the corporate houses, institutions, and citizens having made an enormous difference in society by means of their impactful and scalable projects, the CSR Journal presented the CSR Journal Excellence Awards 2017 to NGOs, individuals and corporates across 7 categories on Monday. The event was inaugurated by Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis. 

"We would like to recognise corporate houses, institutions and citizens for the enormous difference they have made to improve and empower the quality and prospects of everyone touched by their initiatives," the CSR Journal said in a statement.

"We would also like to encourage more companies and citizens to commit themselves to making a positive and beneficial impact in their community, society and the country, at large," the statement added.

More than 200 nominations were received for the CSR Journal Excellence Awards 2017, across 7 categories, namely, Education & Skill Training, Women Empowerment & Child Welfare, Agriculture & Rural Development, Health & Sanitation, Sports, Animal Welfare and Environment.

The Award ceremony which took place on Monday in Mumbai with Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis as the Chief Guest was also attended by Maharashtra Minister of Finance Sudhir Mungantiwar and Vice-Chairman of Jindal Stainless Limited Srishti Jindal.

A total of 3 finalists per category were shortlisted for the awards, with a live jury panel deciding on the final winners. Apart from the 7 categories, 10 individuals were also facilitated with awards, recognising their achievements and contributions to society.

The live jury panel that selected and announced the final winners included Director General, GST Intelligence John Joseph, Former Mumbai Police Commissioner M.N. Singh, Founder, Goonj Anshu Gupta, Social Activist & Banker Amruta Fadnavis, Padma Shri & Co-Founder of Prajwala Sunitha Krishnan and Former Director General & CEO, IICA Bhaskar Chatterjee among others.

The final winners of the CSR Journal Excellence Awards 2017 are:

  1. Bharti Foundation (Education & Skill Training)
  2. Go Sports (Sports)
  3. Animal Rahat (Animal Welfare)
  4. DCB Bank (Environment)
  5. Reliance Power Ltd. (Agriculture & Rural Development)
  6. Societe Generale (Women Empowerment & Child Welfare)
  7. Magma Fincorp Ltd. (Heath & Sanitation)