Congress Releases First List Of 218 Candidates For Karnataka Polls

| April 16 , 2018 , 07:55 IST

The ruling Congress party in Karnataka on Sunday evening released its first list of 218 candidates for the upcoming state elections for 224 seats. The party is expected to release the names for the remaining 6 seats in a second list. The last date for nomination is April 24.

Current Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah who has been contesting from the Varuna constituency since 2018 will be contesting from the Chamundeshwari constituency in Mysuru in the 2018 elections, and his son Dr Yatheendra will be contesting from Varuna.

Apart from Siddaramaiah's son, the children of four sitting legislators have also been given tickets, including home minister Ramalinga Reddy and his daughter Soumya, law minister TB Jayachandra and son, housing minister M Krishnappa and son Priya Krishna and Shamanur Shivshankarappa and son SS Mallikarjun.

The BJP had released its first list of 72 candidates for the Karnataka polls on April 8. Apart from the BJP and Congress, the Janata Dal Secular party, in alliance with Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party for the Karnataka polls, has already announced candidates for 126 constituencies.

ALSO READ: BJP Releases First List Of 72 Candidates For Karnataka Assembly Polls

Since Karnataka is one of the few major bastions remaining of the Congress party, extensive campaigning has been going on in the state by both the BJP and the ruling Congress.

The elections for the Karnataka are scheduled to take place on May 12 and the counting of votes will take place on May 15.

View full list of the Congress candidates for Karnataka polls below: