Congress Releases Candidate List For Meghalaya And Tripura

| January 28 , 2018 , 11:25 IST

The Congress on Saturday released its list of candidates for next month's Tripura and Meghalaya Assembly elections.

The party is contesting 56 candidates from Tripura and 57 from Meghalaya. According to the list, Chief Minister of Meghalaya, Mukul Sangama will be contesting from two constituencies Songsak and Ampathi.

ALSO READ: Congress complains to EC against Kejriwal Mon

State Congress chief and sitting MLA Birajit Sinha will contest from his old turf Kailashahar in northern Tripura, while Congress Legislature Party leader Gopal Roy will fight from his existing seat in Banamalipur in Agartala.

The 60-member Assemblies in Meghalaya and Tripura are set to expire on March 6 and 14, respectively. Tripura goes to poll on February 18, while Meghalaya will vote on February 27. Vote counting for Tripura and Meghalaya along with Nagaland will take place on March 3.

The Congress is seeking to come back to power in Meghalaya and ousting the CPM in Tripura where the Left front has been in power for the last 25 years.

ALSO READ: After Gujarat RS Win, Congress Expels 14 Rebel MLAs For

BJP has also released its first list of 44 candidates for Assembly Elections in Tripura. The party is going to contest on 51 seats and nine have been kept for its alliance partner, IPFT. The BJP refrained from announcing a chief ministerial candidate for the state elections.

The list of the candidates announced by Congress: