Congress Has A New Rotation Plan For Ministers In Karnataka

| June 8 , 2018 , 16:54 IST

The Congress party has come up with a new rotation plan in the coalition government in the state of Karnataka, media reported on Thursday. The ministers in the state cabinet will now be appointed for two years. The reshuffle will occur after this period and the non-performing ones will be replaced by new faces. The evaluation will occur every six months.

This new plan of the party would not only maintain the seriousness of the ministers and keep them busy but would also give an opportunity to the waiting members to showcase their work.

ALSO READ: 12 Congress, 10 JD(S) MLAs Take Oath As Karnataka Cabinet Ministers

In conversation with the daily newspaper Times of India on Thursday, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretary in charge of Karnataka  K.C. Venugopal said “the high command had prepared a three-point formula on the induction of ministers and their continuity. This is not the final cabinet. The ministers’ tenure is on a two-year rotation.”

Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) working president Dinesh Gundu Rao said that when the reshuffle will take place after two years, the new ministers who will come in would have a tenure of three years, but they would also be replaced if they don’t clear the periodic six-month performance test.

The party members to failed to lock their seat in the cabinet criticized the exercise and said the party had failed in making right choices. Sources also said that the party members who are speaking against the leadership won’t be considered of future positions.