Congress Celebrates Victory In Gurdaspur As Sunil Jakhar Wins By 1.93 Lakh Votes

| October 15 , 2017 , 12:46 IST

In a major victory for Congress, the Punjab Congress Chief Sunil Jakhar won the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat by-election with 1,93,219 votes on Sunday, leaving behind BJP rival Swaran Salaria at second, and AAP candidate Maj. Gen. Suresh Kumar Khajuria (retd) at third.

The Gurdaspur seat, earlier held by the BJP, fell vacant in April after veteran actor Vinod Khanna, a 4-time MP of Gurdaspur passed away. The polling for the seat took place on October 11 with 56 percent of the 15.22 lakh registered voters casting their vote, a voter turnout much less than the 70 percent voters in 2014.

''People of Gurdaspur have sent a strong message of their resentment to policies pursued by Narendra Modi-led government at the Centre,'' said Jakhar.

ALSO READ: Rahul Will Be Elevated Soon, Confirms Sonia Gandhi

Celebrating the victory, Congress leader Navjot Sidhu termed the win as a 'Diwali gift' for Rahul Gandhi, who is expected to soon become the Congress party President.  

''This is a beautiful Diwali gift, packed with a red ribbon, for our would be party president Rahul Gandhi,'' Sidhu said.

Jakhar remained in the lead since the counting for the Gurdaspur votes began early on Sunday.

Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh congratulated KJakhar on the win, and tweeted: Congratulations to Sunil Jakhar ji for his impressive win in Gurdaspur bypoll, it's a victory for INC Punjab policies & development agenda.

Meanwhile, the Aam Aadmi Party candidate, Khajuria, alleged that the voting had been rigged by the Congress, which recently came to power in Punjab.