Bypolls: SP Wins Gorakhpur and Phulpur, RJD Reclaims Araria

| March 14 , 2018 , 18:02 IST

In a huge setback for the Yogi Adityanath-led BJP government in Uttar Pradesh, BJP lost both the Lok Sabha seat of Gorakhpur and Phulpur to Samajwadi Party. The result of the byelections came out on Wednesday.

In Bihar, RJD has won Araria Parliamentary seat and the Jehanabad assembly seat while BJP's Rinky Pandey won the Bhabhua assembly in the by-elections.

In Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency, Praveen Nishad of the SP marked his victory over BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla by 21,961 votes.

In Phulpur Lok Sabha constituency, SP candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel defeated BJP candidate Kaushlendra Singh Patel by over 59,613 votes. 

ALSO READ: BSP SP Forge Strategic Alliance Ahead Of Bypoll

Samajwadi Party spokesman Anurag Bhaudauria said, "This is a rejection of both Modi and Yogi."

"They have been making tall promises but not delivering on the ground," he added. 

Sidharth Nath Singh, a senior minister in the BJP said, "We had not seen the Samajwadi Party and BSP coming together but since we have come to know of this now and though there is still a long time (ahead of the polls) we will redraw our strategy keeping this factor in mind."

ALSO READ: Bypolls: Gorakhpur Registers 43 Percent Voter Turnout, Phulpur 37 Percent, And Araria Gets 57 Percent

The Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha constituencies were vacated by CM Yogi Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya. The by-polls were held on March 11 for both the constituencies.Losing the seats vacated by the Chief Minister and the Deputy Chief Minister comes as a major setback for the BJP.

While Phulpur recently went to BJP's kitty, it had been winning the Gorakhpur Loksabha seat for 29 years.

BJP just won the Tripura state elections dislodging the Left Front government from the state. It also managed to cobble together an alliance in Meghalaya and Nagaland.

The number of seats held by parties is changed in the Lok Sabha now as BJP now has 274 seats and RJD holds 7 seats.