BJP Wins Himachal Pradesh, Its CM Candidate Dhumal Loses To His Own Protégé

| December 18 , 2017 , 16:46 IST

Bhartiya Janata Party is set to make a comeback in Himachal Pradesh with the party having won on 14 seats and leading on 30 seats. The magic figure in the 68 member assembly is 34 plus.


However BJP's Chief Minister Candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal has lost his own election. Dhumal has twice been the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh from March 1998 to March 2003 and again from 1 January 2008 to 25 December 2012.

Dhumal shifted his seat from Hamirpur to Sujanpur before the elections and was pitched in a tight contest against his own protégé turned bête-noir Rajendra Rana. Rana contested the 2012 elections from Sujanpur as an independent and won against Congress candidate Anita Verma.

Rana was considered to be the close confidant of Dhumal before 2012. When Prem Kumar Dhumal became the CM for the first time, he has appointed Rana as the Chairman of the Media Advisory Committee. Rana was denied a ticket in 2012 and he decided to contest as independent. Rana then contested the 2014 Lok Sabha elections against Anurag Thakur on a Congress ticket.

Prem Kumar Dhumal’s shift to Sujanpur was seen as a decision that would help the party in all seats of Hamirpur. Rana had won the 2012 election by more than 12000 votes. His poll slogan was ‘ek taraf naam, ek taraf kaam’.

The state has been known to alternate government between BJP and the Congress party since 1990.